Midday (The Unknown)

It’s the middle of my saturday, and I don’t know what to do. I just want to write but I have nothing to say. And you know what’s weird? While I’m currently typing away at my keyboard, I’m actually singing the words I’m typing in my head. It’s funny, I know. But I just do that sometimes, and I never really found a reason why.

Not that I want to find a reason why. Sometimes things are better unknown. Of course, our curiousity makes us starve to know the answers, but I’m fully aware that all the magic will be taken away upon knowing. That’s what makes magic so MAGICAL. The mystery in it; the things left to be wondered and imagined and marveled at. If we understood everything, what would exist that would interest us? And if we were uninterested in everything, how could we love anything? And if we were to love nothing, how could we claim to be living at all? The unknown is what drives us. It may be the fear of the unknown or the want to make the unknown known that drives us. In my case, I prefer being pushed to my limits by the latter.

No one wants to live in fear, but let us admit it, we all have at least once. We have been consumed by doubt, uncertainty, our failures, our worries, our guilt. And we’re always afraid that something or someone is going to come knocking on our door one day to rob us of what we know today, and leave us stranded in the abyssal unknown. Where will we go from there? What do we do? Will we be alright at the end of it all, provided we find the end at all? But fear is the worst thing about fear. The danger often times does not lie in the physical danger itself. To fear is to allow yourself to be gobbled up whole by whichever evil scares you, to permit yourself to become a slave of its wills, to yield to being caged and never grow. The only way to run from your fear is to face it.

Should we learn to love the unknown, and seek its secrets, we would unveil all the beauty in the world. Life would become one great adventure beyond any measure. The unknown is so wide and big and greater than we can imagine. Be amazed by that. Think of the freedom that exists in that. Think of the possibilities, the opportunities, the treasures just waiting to be found. Think about all the things you can gain from uncovering what’s there in the unknown. It could be infinitely better than the good world we already move and breathe in.

As human beings, we must strive to explore our hugely expansive playground that is our universe. It is by learning that we find our purpose, and it is by finding our purpose that we LIVE.

LEGACY

When everything begins, it promises so much. And the fact that everything ends makes the promise so much more urgent. You see, we’re capable of having something more permanent than human flesh. It’s called legacy. You have one life time to build your legacy, and to do this you must fulfil your full potential. It isn’t guaranteed that you’ll have your legacy cemented before you die, but you’re made if others will keep on building it up for you. But eventually, your name will fade away and the names of the others who kept on building your legacy will be added. Because a legacy isn’t about you. It’s about a value or a belief – a fire in your heart that you shared with other people who in turn shared it with others. Making your mark is simply the passing on of the torch.

The Good and the Bad

I’m aware that bad things happen. It’s not like as if we can stop bad things from happening. It’s not like we can rewind time and change the things we want to change. It’s not like we can take an eraser and eradicate a day or a year or a decade of our lives. The bad things are there with the good things. And I suppose, just like people, these bad things are beautiful too.

Can you see light if there were no darkness? It would be too much for your eyes and you’d be blinded, and you wouldn’t be able to enjoy the light or its gifts at all. In a painting, the right mix of shadow and brightness create beauty. Only those who have been to the bad know just how good the good is. Bad things are painful; some worse than others. But just like the physical earth needs day and night, our human world needs it too. There has to be some joy, there has to be some sorrow. Bad things can come from good things, and good things can come from bad things. It’s a cycle, and it’s the truth, and it will remain the truth as long as there is Heaven and Earth and the fiery pit.

Just Admitting Something

I’ll just make a quick admission of something.

Though I signed up for this site in March, I did that for a school project. All I really wanted was to post the essay we were required to write and have things over with. But then a thought crossed my head… what if I actually took my blog seriously? So that’s why I even have an introduction posted here. BUT, what with being busy and everything, I never really got back to it.

With that, you can understand why my blog is just so… BARE. And you’ll have to cope with that for a while, for I am no master when it comes to computers. I’m a crappy no0b, no need to tell me. I’m fully aware of my limits in this respect. Lol. But I’ll learn how to customize this blog to decency eventually. Maybe within the year. HOPEFULLY.

Now of course, I can always ask my friends, right? Well, it’s 11:40 AM on a Saturday morning, and no one I know I can bug for such a petty thing as blog themes is awake right now (or at least, none of them are online). So for now, we’ll have to stick to this boring theme. I’ll try to figure out how to get a free theme sometime in the near future. Please just bear with my crappiness, thank you. >.<